The Start.

20160531_193605
“Your wings already exist, all you have to do is fly”

Hello.

If you’re reading this then you know three things. One, that my name is Kathryn. Two, that this blog was requested (or forced) by the Queen of Social Media, Lisa Doyle. Three, I am in Dublin, Ireland working at the Guinness Enterprise Center as an intern for the for the Summer of 2016.

Please keep all hands and feet inside the car as this is going to be a bumpy ride, and here we go.

Getting to Ireland was pretty simple, if you count two connecting flights, an old man sleeping on your shoulder and not being able to sleep on any flight simple. Oh, but when the sun was rising I was just passing over the outskirts of Ireland, and let me tell you, the view out the window was breathtaking. I would take the screaming babies, the lack of sleep and the 8 hour flight for that view.

So, I made it to the ground, but I now I have to go through customs. Now I lived in Moscow, Russia for two year of my developing life, so when I think customs I think angry Russian men yelling at me for having a smiling passport of not standing correctly. I remember having to redue my paperwork, not once, but at least three times, Ireland is nothing like this. The line moved faster than children running to the Ice Cream man during the summer. When I got to the front of the line, the man saw I was from Texas and told me he had been practicing his southern accent (it was horrible). I laughed. He stamped my passport. I moved on. I was in and out within 10 minutes. It was a shocking experience.

Anyways, I made it! I was now on the beautiful soil of my roots, where my ginger brotherin live. I start walking out into the air, and complete miss the fact I am walking pass my aunt trying to talk to me…. I might have been slightly sleep deprived, it was 7am, and I haven’t slept. It’s fine. Plus side, there was a group of UT people there, with a flag and everything (I felt really welcomed).

Then I slept till 2pm. Went to the pub, and that’s day 1.

Leave a Reply

