To Dublin!

20160613_203712Now, let’s pretend you sat down on the fast forward button and now I’m in Dublin.

(insert fast forward sounds)

I have never been to a such a beautiful place, where everyone looks happy,  with such lovely sights, people laughing with joy and things I want to buy. Man, I love IKEA. Gotcha. But seriously, Dublin is nice, expensive, like my wallet already knows it is going to hurt, but my heart is happy.

After IKEA, it is time to  see the place I will be living in for the next two months. I have no idea where it is, who the lady I am living with is, or what kind of atmosphere I’ll be in. I am only slightly freaked out, but acting as cool as a cucumber. Needless to say, Jan is great and as soon as My Aunt and I knock on the door, she had the kettle going and was offering us a nice warm cup of tea (two months was going to fly).

Now this was all happening Monday the 7th, which in Ireland is a Bank Holiday (for you Americas, a bank holiday is just a day off because the Irish rule), and the next day is my first day of work. Cue the panic music please! I spent the night picking out the right outfit, painting my nails, and figuring out how the hell I’m going to make it across town and not be late on my first day. Yes, I’m freaking out.

I didn’t sleep well, on no, I slept like a baby with a ear infection (that’s bad), but I managed to wake up at 6:00 am to get read for a bus at 7:20! I thought I needed that much time, I’ve since learned. Anyways, I was going to work with Lisa, who works with my Aunt at the Redwood&Co, so I could find my way to work (and not get lost in Dublin). Let me tell you 7:20 is very early and I don’t like mornings. In fact, I hate them. I think the morning should start at 11 and I shouldn’t have to wake up at least 10, but no one asked me.

We got to the GEC (Guinness Enterprise Centre) around 8, and I wasn’t meeting my boss till 10… Yeah, I’m that person (blame my father). It was fine though I got to meet a few people while I waited, and calm my nerves. I spent the next few hours planning ADPi recruitment entertainment (for those of you who don’t understand this, just know ADPi is a sorority and we are not what you see in movies). As the clock started clicking away, my nerves calmed, then shot back up as I walked to reception to meet my doom.

Sitting at reception was Linda. God help me.

A few things I wish I knew about Linda then that I know now. 1. She HATES working reception. 2. If she is working reception, say a prayer and hold on tight. 3. Her humor, is like mine, so keep up and only take about 30% of what she say seriously (I love you Linda).

Basically, I remember nothing from that day. I didn’t even take ‘First Day of Work in Ireland’ picture for my mother, which she was kind to forgive me for. I remember walking in, shaking a lot of hands, talking to people and leaving. I walked home from work, which is about a 5K walk, I made it 6K because I was lost for a large part of the walk, but it was worth my adventure!

And so marks the beginning of my marathon at the GEC.

Leave a Reply

