the end of the adventure

I’m going to try something new.

Just sit still. Listen to the sounds around you. The people breathing in the room and your own heartbeat.

When was the last time you took 10 minutes to just be? To actually listen to what other people were thinking, saying, wishing, or dreaming?

The last time I remember taking this time was my last week at the GEC. I wanted to remember every moment, every smell (I know, gross), and every person. My last week was a happy one and one that I will always be grateful for.

I didn’t think, going into this summer, that the people in the GEC would make such a huge impact on my life. That when I got home, I would miss waking up at seven to go see all their smiling faces and listen to them laugh at my jokes. Let’s face it, I need people to laugh at my jokes. I didn’t realize that while I was there I made a family, one that I never wanted to leave.  A family of multiple different personalities, cultures, and backgrounds. A family that welcomed me with open arms and accepted my weirdness. A family that holds a specific part in my heart. But most of all, a family I miss daily.

The most important thing I learned from the GEC wasn’t how to interact with clients or colleges, but how to make the most of every moment. Even though there is always work to be done, they understood the importance of people, their stories, and their time. Also, the art of a good vacation, wait I mean holiday.

If I didn’t say it then, I will now, thank you. Thank you for always caring about me and my weekend excursions. Thank you for the free hot chocolates and muffins. Thank you for the laughs. Thank you for being my family when my family was 7,000 miles away. I can never thank you enough, for you all are truly remarkable people.

 

Leave a Reply

